Nothing Bundt Cake

I first heard about Nothing Bundt Cakes about two years ago from a friend. There is a location in Los Gatos that is about 15 minutes from my house. I don’t really recall what flavor I tried last time, but I remembered that it was so moist and yummy.When the recent deal appeared on the fabulous Groupon.com, I didn’t hesitate to buy one. (It was valid for the Sunnyvale location only, which isn’t far either.) The coupon was $10 for $20 of goods from NBC, so I was able to score a 8″ marble bundt cake for $11.00 (normally $21.00 with icing only.)

NBC is very generous about the samples, everyday they have a different flavor for you to try, and it was a > 1″ square sample with yummy frostings on top. The sample flavor of the day was carrot, and YUM! But because I was bringing the cake to my parents’ house for dinner that night, I decided against carrot, not knowing what everyone’s opinion towards carrot cake was. After spending five minutes debating between red velvet, chocolate chip, and marble, I finally made up my mind and chose the latter. Isn’t it pretty? This is their signature frosting style. They also do a drizzle-style that has less frosting. To have it decorated with pompom flowers or birthday hats, it’s another $8.00+.

I decorated the top with some sliced pineapple. The tartness of the pineapple was perfect because the cake was so sweet.

Overall, it was good, but a tad too sweet. I loved the cake’s texture, so moist and fluffy. But the chocolate swirl didn’t have much flavor, all I tasted was the sweet yellow cake and the very sweet cream cheese frosting on top. I don’t like desserts that are so sugary that make my teeth hurt, but I know lots of people that do. I have to applaud NBC though. We don’t think of bundt cakes as glamorous and attractive, any home-bakers can make them. Yet, NBC had the genius idea to frost these up in a stylish manner, and charge for additional decorations. This is a business that probably has a very low overhead, and people are going gaga over these little cakes with holes! (Love that scene from My Big Fat Greek Wedding.) Very smart business idea!

The sales lady behind the counter told me that they’ll be having another groupon deal soon. (The honest truth is that I won’t pay $21 for a small 8″ bundt.) I’ll definitely go back to try other flavors.

That same night at dinner, my mom decided to finally cut open the Tortuga Rum Cake we brought back from Nassau in the Bahamas. Simply warmed it up in the microwave, and in seconds, we had a decadent and VERY rummy treat. There were little chunks of walnuts inside, which was a nice addition to the cake texture. The serving instruction on the box suggested that we serve it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and with a little pour of rum liqueor. (They definitely know the way to my heart!)  But since we already had the bundt cake, we didn’t go all out. There are 9 different flavors total, check them out when you ever visit Nassau in the Bahamas. (Although don’t count on the warmest customer service)

4 thoughts on “Nothing Bundt Cake

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very useful information specifically the last part :
    ) I care for such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time.

    Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a comment